Surprisingly Blue Roundhead Mushrooms

This post is about discovery–such a joy, is it not?! I like to think of discovering clusters of mushrooms as ‘pop-up villages’.

Barn House Garden

Over the last week or so I’ve been dismantling thirty odd patio pots at the south end of the house. Partly, to clear the decks for the painters who need access to the windows and, partly, in preparation for loading the containers into the greenhouse for the winter. As it marks the end of the season for this bit of the garden, it’s not a job I relish, especially when it still looks good. However, little did I know : this year I was in for a pleasant surprise.

Patio pots mid October 2016

On Thursday, with all the cutting back done well ahead of time, I took a deep breath and armed myself with the optimistic floor plan with which to brief the two strapping young men who were going to haul the pots of tender and borderline hardy exotics into the greenhouse.

Greenhouse floor plan

This is not a job for the faint-hearted, the pot sizes…

View original post 538 more words

3 thoughts on “Surprisingly Blue Roundhead Mushrooms

  1. I see I’ve missed a wealth of good reads and photos from yourself since I first came across you. My mistake (early dealings with blogging), but I’m going to enjoy catching up now. We’ll be in ‘Europe’ this northern spring for a few months . . .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

